RBC Financial Group email

So I got this email today at my school address:

Dear Client

Royal Bank Financial Group audit department has detected a problem with transactions in your account. An amount was deposited and withdrawn by our accounting system. We warn you of this error so that you are not surprised when you see these transactions on your monthly statement. No Transaction expenses occurred. Never reveal your personal information on a site other than the RBC secure site. If you noticed another error, contact your institution during opening hours.

We encourage you to connect to your account and verify your transactions, by clicking the secured url below :

https://www1.royalbank.com/cgi-bin/rbaccess/

Be assured that RBC makes every effort to protect our internet users

Royal Bank Finacial Group thanks you for your business and appreciates your comprehension

RBC Financial Group

© Banque Royale du Canada 1996, 2002, 2003-2006




The only problem is I don’t have an RBC account. I’ve emailed the folks at RBC and they said they would look into it. Anyone else received anything similar? .....Strange…

Comment

  1. ramanan says,

    Shima, it’s calling phishing. If you get strange emails from strangers, it’s probably spam or someone trying to steal your passwords/money. It’s really not that strange. I get emails from banks i’m not a part of all the time. I bet if you look to see who actually sent the email, it’s not from the Royal Bank. And I bet if you click the link in the email, it’ll go one place, which isn’t to the address you copied here.

  2. sh!ma says,

    uhhh.. I’m not stupid. I know what it is.. I found it strange because I don’t have a RBC account.. and anyways I emailed the folks so that they will know that people are sending emails on their behalf! .... really Ram, what do you take me for? 8o|

  3. Jason Tsang says,

    I guarantee you it wasn’t RBC that sent it. Look at the headers and you’ll see the originating SMTP server is not from RBC.

    If that’s the case, e-mailing RBC is pretty much a waste of your time. It doesn’t take much for anyone to make it appear as though you are sending an e-mail as someone else. And if you don’t look at the headers, most people wouldn’t even know better.

  4. ramanan says,

    Shima, it’s straight up spam. People fake everything. I get emails from “banks” all the time. I will hold your hand and explain how it all works later.

  5. matt says,

    What’s interesting about the URL is that it’s legit!! It’s actually a ‘royalbank.com’ address and not some shit like ‘thisisnotphishing.ca/sdfsdf/sdfsdf/’.

    Although you’re probably right that it is phishing— but it doesn’t loook like that URL address will lead these losers to anything.

  6. tiff says,

    no it’s not. i get these types of email all the time from TD.

    don’t respond. and DON“T CLICK IT!!!!

    that so-called legit email is fake. I get spam from myself all the time.

  7. Jason Tsang says,

    The URL posted above is legit. The URL that was in the e-mail probably isn’t. You know how it is… the actual link in the anchor tag does not have to be what is shown as the clickable text i.e. <code><a href=“bad link”>seemingly real link</a></code>

 
Some things to keep in mind: You can style comments using Textile. In particular, *text* will get turned into text and _text_ will get turned into text. You can post a link using the command "linktext":link, so something like "google":http://www.google.com will get turned in to google. I may erase off-topic comments, or edit poorly formatted comments; I do this very rarely.